JLL R200 - Some advice, please!

A forum for discussing training programmes, indoor racing, things that work for you, coaching etc.

Moderator: The forum police - (nee naw)

GrantP
Warming up

JLL R200 - Some advice, please!

Post by GrantP »

Hi,

Wonder if I might trouble someone for a little advice...

I'm new to rowing on an erg. Didn't want to invest too much initially, so I purchased a 2nd hand JLL R200 which I know is a budget machine, but fine to try out with.

To start with, my benchmark was a 5k distance, keeping the resistance setting consistently on 4, and my simple target was to keep bettering my time (mainly due to my ability to maintain a higher stroke rate for longer as I got a bit fitter). I know that it's not all about strokes per minute, and technique is really important. I'd watched a number of youtube tutorials on stroke technique which clearly show people maintaining and improving the distance they are covering by lowering their stroke rate and applying a better technique, increasing the power etc. It clearly shows people who were at 30+ strokes reducing down to 24-26 and still maintaining/improving the distance they were covering with better, more powerful strokes (they were using a concept 2 erg)

I've tried to mirror this, but no matter how much more power/technique I put into each stroke, it doesn't seem to make a difference. The only thing that seems to get me to my 5k target quicker is by keeping my strokes per minute as high as possible. I can almost cheat the erg and do half-hearting strokes but as long as I'm up and down quickly, it'll keep counting the distance. I'm starting to lose motivation now though because it feels like it doesn't care how much effort goes into each stroke, it's only measuring strokes per minute.