Help and advice for a newbie please :-/

A forum for discussing training programmes, indoor racing, things that work for you, coaching etc.

Moderator: The forum police - (nee naw)

CaineyBA
Warming up

Help and advice for a newbie please :-/

Post by CaineyBA »

Afternoon all, I'm a complete newbie to this erg lark. Long story short, I'm 36, 6ft and 11 1/2 stone. Always been reasonably fit yet since retiring from football earlier this year, I've noticed my fitness fall off. So short of going back to picking studs out of my legs every weekend, I wanted something I could do at home to get me back on track. I have bought a basic erg machine to begin with, just to make sure it's for me. I've watched all the videos regarding technique and breathing etc and think I've got it pretty much down. I've been training for a week now and would like some feedback on my stats. I'm currently just doing 30 mins straight out and covering 10k. It's a pretty consistent pace too, 3 min 1k's and averaging approx 23 SPM. Any advice or opinions would be appreciated. Many thanks. I should say that my erg is a very basic Roger Black effort, no adjustable drag or anything. I'm really enjoying it though and am currently on the lookout for a more advanced machine. It seems the concept is the holy grail of the erg world!!!! Lol.
Live your dreams, don't dream your life.
Paul Victory
Friend of the Free Spirits web site 2016
Friend of the Free Spirits web site 2016
I row on...: Model E with PM4

Re: Help and advice for a newbie please :-/

Post by Paul Victory »

Hi CaineyBA and welcome to Free Spirits.

It's very difficult to comment on your pace on the machine you have as it is not directly comparable to a Concept 2 machine. The fact that your pace is consistent is a good sign and the stroke rate of 23 SPM is sensible and shows you probably have developed a good rhythm.