Smart Phone Applications

Tired of talking about rowing and want to talk about the real world? Enter a forum where rowing is a rude word...

Moderator: The forum police - (nee naw)

andy walls
Dedicated and True Free Spirit
I row on...: Model C with PM5

Smart Phone Applications

Post by andy walls »

I have been kept amused by the ibingo thread and it got me thinking.........

I'm fairly new to the world of smart phones and bit the bullet about 3 months ago and purchased an iPhone. To say I would be lost without it now is an understatement.

Thought I would see if we could share ideas on applications for smart phones, there are thousands of them, some good, some not so good.

I'll start off with a recent 69p purchase for an app called mapmytracks, a fantastic app that maps your activity whether it's walking, cycling, running etc. it will work out distance, gradient, pace, calories etc and you can share your routes with people via their web site. Your location is accurate to within one meter and uses GPS. Whilst recently on a 5 mile dog walk through Cannock Chase it even differentiates between cycle, horse and walking routes.

You can save your routes and retrace your steps at a later date, the app continues to work if you put your phone in standby mode, it doesn't blitz your battery either, today the app used 12% battery in 95 minutes!
41 yrs, HWT, If you are going through hell, keep going - Winston Churchill

Daffy
Friend of the Free Spirits web site 2018
I row on...: Model D with PM3

Re: Smart Phone Applications

Post by Daffy »

Andy - I just had a look at this out of curiosity. Is it true that people can see what you are doing in real 'live' time? If so it is potentially a fantastic source of information for burglars etc. to find out who is not at home. It is so easy to find out where people live these days.
Daffy

Post by Daffy »